1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Sub-contractor Requirements

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by SatZ28, Nov 4, 2002.

1. SatZ28

SatZ28 Member

Do to an un-expected summer off; I had some time to ponder my future. While I am now currently employed, I am looking at several business endeavors. My plan is to be my own boss by the summer of 04. One the areas I'm looking at is snow plowing. If I work as a sub, what are contractors looking for in sub's?

Thanks,

Rob

2. NoStockBikes!!

NoStockBikes!! Senior Member

A truck and a pulse. :D

I'm sure that the usual qualities anyone looks for in anyone for any kind of employment situation would be key:

reliability (equipment will show up, as well as you), experience (that you actually know what you're doing) etc.

They want someone who can do the job, and do it well.

3. PINEISLAND1

PINEISLAND1 PlowSite.com Veteran

We require a general liability policy, commercial auto insurance, and a signed waiver of workers comp. We dont worry too much about experience, as long as you are as worried about your name and reputation as we are of ours, then we know the job will get done right. Speed is not an issue with us.

And regardless of what the Democrats think, character does matter.

4. ChicagoSnow

ChicagoSnow Senior Member

Pineisland1,

Care to share your waiver for workmans comp. insurance??

Feel free to private message me to discuss further.

Thanks,

ChicagoSnow

5. Snoworks

Snoworks Senior Member

What are snowplowing contractors looking for.

1.) Availability
    2.) Reliability
    3.) Competance
    4.) Quality maintained vehical