1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by LI Brian, Oct 11, 2001.

1. LI Brian

LI Brian Guest

I know that this topic has been discussed before, but I would like to hear peoples opinions on subcontractors. Some people feel that they are the worst and some people feel that they wouldn't survive without them. Maybe some of you have changed your minds since the last time it was discussed. Also why do some of you subcontract opposed to doing your own work. Personally I subcontract not because I am afraid of the responsibility, But I do it as a side buisness because I am a shop teacher, and also have a contracting buisness that keeps me pretty busy.
  2. 75

75 PlowSite.com Addict

I've touched on this subject in other posts, this will be my first season plowing "for hire" and I have decided to work as a subcontractor.

Since I have a full-time job, and my hours can be open-ended sometimes (most of the time, I'm either doing mobile welding/fabricating or running our boom truck) as well, I felt that this would make it difficult to provide the level of service customers expect/deserve. As a sub, the days/times I am available can be scheduled and planned around.

Plus I don't have much experience on the operating a business end of things, the sub route seemed to make more sense here as well.

So for myself, being a subcontractor seemed to be the best approach to take at my present "entry level" into the snow biz.

JD PLOWER PlowSite.com Veteran