1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Strongest auto trans.

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by Scott R, Nov 6, 2007.

1. Scott R

Scott R Member

Looking for your insight as to what are some of the strongest auto transmissions that are readly avalible. I've been plowing for 15 years with a standard and it's time to switch.

Thanks for you thoughts.
  2. ABES

ABES PlowSite.com Addict
    from MN

if your talking in a pickup i would have to go with the allison theres not much in her for reverse(speed) but otherwise there fairly stout.
  3. JD Dave

JD Dave PlowSite Fanatic

I have to agree, they are tough. Most transmission failures are from abuse. JMO
  4. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

I'd agree.. the Allison has the proven track record as the beefiest and most durable trans in the light trucks..I'd say the new Asian 6-speed in the new Dodges would be a relatively close second though..but only time will tell if they're as durable as the Allison..
  5. theguynextdoor

theguynextdoor Senior Member

Do trucks come with these transmissions? What trucks out (new or a couple years old) have the best tranny?
  6. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

Any '01-'06 GM 2500HD or 3500 with the Duramax or the 8.1 big block can be had with the Allison 5 or 6 speed (depending on year), and the '07-up 2500HD/3500's with the Duramax also..

The Asian 6-speeds can be had in the new Dodge 2500/3500's with the Cummins..

Looking at these two transmissions from a strength standpoint, I feel the Allison still has a lead over the Asian 6-speed but the Asians are a very well built trans also..
  7. Philbilly2

Philbilly2 2000 Club Member