1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

    Dismiss Notice

strobes

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by midnightsun13, Nov 26, 2006.

?

front end strobes

  1. headlights

    7 vote(s)
    21.2%
  2. markers

    26 vote(s)
    78.8%
  1. midnightsun13

    midnightsun13 Junior Member
    Messages: 25

    i have a 1990 k1500 with composite headlights and i can get hide-a-ways installed for under $125.00 im gonna do them in my backup lights in the back but my question is should i do them in theheadlights or the marker's up front? i think having them in the headlights may be annoying while plowing at night........tell me what you guys think
     
  2. NoFearDeere

    NoFearDeere PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,715

    Definetaly in the turn signals....if they are installed in there then you get front and side warning vs. just out the front. Just my 0.02:)
     
  3. midnightsun13

    midnightsun13 Junior Member
    Messages: 25

    nah i have a seperate light for the side
     
  4. Plowfast9957

    Plowfast9957 Senior Member
    Messages: 280

    What kind of strobes are they. I would think they would charge that just for the install, nevermind the system.
     
  5. midnightsun13

    midnightsun13 Junior Member
    Messages: 25

    well it was gonna be 125 for the system and the install combined....but i already have a box out of an ex-police tahoe......and its getting installed through connections in the police department at the price that the police department would pay
     
  6. JohnnyU

    JohnnyU 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,040

    In most states (read: ALL) strobes in your headlights are illegal regardless of color, place being used or activity being performed.

    I mounted mine in the turnsignals like this:
    [​IMG]
     
  7. CURLERIC

    CURLERIC Member
    from NY
    Messages: 39

    Strobe Melt

    Hi,
    I Was Lookin Into 90 Watt Strobe Set Up & Saw In Whelan's Install Info That Strobe Power Supplies In Excess Of 10 Watts Per Outlet May Cause Composite Housings To Melt. I Was Going To Go With Higher Output For Visbility But Their Tech Support Advised That Split 4 Ways @ 22.5 Watts Per Outlet I Would Likely Have Meltdown. Anyone Melt Any Housings? How Are The 60 Watt Set Ups ? Anyone Melt Housings @ 15 Watts?
    Tnx 4 Wisdom,
    Rich
     
  8. JohnnyU

    JohnnyU 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,040

    I've been running mine for about 2 years or so at 15W per head without any kind of heat issues. They're pretty damn bright too! :drinkup:
     
  9. profire73

    profire73 Member
    Messages: 46

    I can say that I have use many strobes in composite lights and never melted them and I ran them up to there max 30watts. Whelen puts that warning out to Cover themselves and most companies do. I guess it is from all there testing they have done on them and if there is the slightest possibilty of this happening that is what they go by.

    Right now I have 4 strobes installed in my Suburban headlights and they are hooked up to a 120 watt power supply. They have been there for years with no issues. Just be cautious of your mounting locations.

    Just my 2 cents.
     
  10. Antnee77

    Antnee77 PlowSite.com Addict
    from RI
    Messages: 1,056

    I was going to run Hide-a-ways at 30 watts each but my plow dealer told me that they'd burn up. He said the max is really around 23.5 watts per head. I don't know if I believe him.
     
  11. JohnnyU

    JohnnyU 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,040

    What reason has he given you to not believe him?
     
  12. midnightsun13

    midnightsun13 Junior Member
    Messages: 25

    when you guys mounted your strobes....does the box have only one wire per strobe or 2? my buddy says the boxes we are using has 12 outlets....but if theres 2 wires per strobe this may mean i can run 6 lights......if its one wire...i can make this thing a christmas tree lol
     
  13. JohnnyU

    JohnnyU 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,040

    Each tube requires 3 wires, but only one "plug" on the power supply.
     
  14. Fergy42286

    Fergy42286 Member
    Messages: 30

    I actually have 4 hide-a-ways up front(one headlight and one turn each side) running on a 90 watt power supply. no melt down yet.
     
  15. pats plowing

    pats plowing Senior Member
    Messages: 281

    help

    I just got a new 07 f550 xlt dump and i want a strobe system.
    I do not know what i want so im open to suggestions
    also it comes with upfitter switches so do i need a powerpack for the lights? anyone with an idea let me know pics are welcome
    also im not an idiot when it comes to trucks but is this something a rookie can do?
     
  16. profire73

    profire73 Member
    Messages: 46

    pats plowing, I am not sure what the switches are you are talking about but I am sure you will need a complete kit. I am assuming that the switches are just 12v power?

    As far as the install, piece of cake if you have the slightest clue about wires. A couple of holes and running some cables, power and ground and you should be in business. There are a couple of more wires involved but not a big deal.

    Any questions you need answered about installing them you are in the right place.
     
  17. Antnee77

    Antnee77 PlowSite.com Addict
    from RI
    Messages: 1,056

    Well, I have heard so many people say that they run 30 watts to each of their bulbs without a problem, so I'm guessing he just said to stay under 23.5 watts in order to prevent excessive heat in a small tailight housing.
     
  18. midnightsun13

    midnightsun13 Junior Member
    Messages: 25

    looks like markers are gonna be the way to go
     
  19. J29

    J29 Senior Member
    Messages: 171

    Hey Antnee 77,
    I'm just wondering who your plow dealer is. I know you run a Fisher so I'm assuming its either Buckys or Dejana. Just curious. Also, when I went to the Whelen factory in CT. many years ago to have my hide-a-ways installed, they wouldnt put them in my reverse lights of my super duty. They said they would melt them. I run a 60 watt 6 head system, so that would have only been 10 watts per head. I wasnt sure if they were just being lazy or not. I have been running four lights, 2 in the brake lights and 2 in the front turn signals without any heat related problems whatsoever for the past five years. Also, pats plowing, the upfitter switches just mean you wont need a control panel. You can hook the power supply into them instead of buying something extra. J.