1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Strobes Vs. Siren Style Lights

Discussion in 'Strobe Lighting' started by Precision1, Nov 19, 2008.

1. Precision1

Precision1 Junior Member

I'm new to plowing and i'm wondering which style you guys like better and why? Color preferences also?

2. Detroitdan

Detroitdan PlowSite.com Addict

Umm, a siren is an audible device. Check your local laws to find out what color is authorized in your area. I wouldn't spend a fortune on snazzy lights when you're new, just get something to protect you. A simple $20 rotator or a $50 single strobe is good enough. Once you start making money then it's okay to waste ridiculous amounts of money on way too many lights that are totally unnecessary and counterproductive. Like most of us idiots do. I still feel like a single construction warning type light is sufficient, so my only justification for having a 12 head Whelen comet flash strobe bar is because I like it. I actually shut the fronts off and use the dimmer, and it's still to much most of the time. But it's cool and fun.
  3. Pirsch

Pirsch Senior Member

One thing also...You need to make sure the light you get is visible. Go with a Halogen Rotator light to start. Then work your way up to LED's/Strobes and stuff like that.

Shop around, ask questions on here. There's so much knowledge on here it will make you puke.

Good luck with your endevor! :cool:
  4. stroker79

stroker79 2000 Club Member

I like the amber sirens

The red and blue sirens are just bad bad news!
  5. Detroitdan

that's a fact. I puke all the time.
  6. chcav1218

chcav1218 Senior Member