1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

street estimating

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by richwit, Sep 24, 2007.

1. richwit

richwit Junior Member

i'm looking for someone that can maybe help me with estimating this contract for plowing streets. i am trying to figure out how long it will take me to plow the streets in a development. is there some kind of formula to figure this out. i've been doing driveways by the piece for years but i am new to the streets thanks to anyone that can help me out

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Really, too ,many variables for any formulae to be useful. Obstacles, surface type, width, curbs, places to put snow, hills, curves etc all play into it. Then, of course, what type of equipment you have.

Where are you located?

3. richwit

richwit Junior Member

mick, i appreciate you getting back to me. i have a little more information i live down in jersey. we usually get 6 to 8 inch storms. 2 to 4 a year the streets in the village are 28 feet wide. the streets are in very good shape. i guess living in maine you must get alot of snow there. last year we didnt get any plowable snow. i have two plow trucks of my own and two kubota tractors. i have two other tractors and two other trucks available to me. we use the tractors to clear the driveways and the trucks for the streets. they call at 3 inches and the streets get cleared and we dont start the driveways until the storm ends. again i appreciate any imput. i've been doing driveways by the piece for about 15 years, never had to deal with the streets thanks again, rich

4. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine