1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Straight vs. V Blade

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by scottzzny, Jun 25, 2010.

1. scottzzny

scottzzny Junior Member

I'm not actually new to plowing as I've been doing this regularly for about 10 years for a friend who has a landscaping business. However, he will not be doing snow removal this coming winter. Because of this I might be able to pick up some of his customers if I buy a plow.

My question is about straight vs. v blades. I've only used straight blades (Meyers, Western and Fisher.) There are a few residential customers where a v-blade would be ideal, at least I think it would, even my own driveway.

Are there any major considerations about v-blades vs. straight, or opinions?

If it helps, it will probably go on a Ford F-450. I may even throw on a small spreader if it is worthwhile.

Thanks for the input.

2. Matson Snow

Matson Snow PlowSite.com Addict

Calm Down...No one Slapped you....You better get a thicker skin that that...Depends what you are gonna be doing with the truck...But in my opinion Go with the V...Sorry if you took my suggestion wrong...But this topic has been coverd a million times and if you go back and read the posts there is some good info.....Welcome to Plowsite.....:salute:

3. ajslands

ajslands 2000 Club Member

Oh get the V, now I've heard they break easier because they can go off square. But just don't go super fast and hit a drain :D !
    I made the mistake and got the str blade. So v blade is better IMO, seems like it is faster because you can clean up the coke lines (windrows)

4. MileHigh

MileHigh PlowSite.com Addict

I plowed in a buddies v before....