1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Storing Bulk Salt

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by DAVE IN BUFFALO, Sep 27, 2003.

1. DAVE IN BUFFALO

DAVE IN BUFFALO Junior Member

Here is my problem. I am looking for a way to store bulk salt.
    I am going to salt this year for the first time. I only have one commercial account where the salt will be used. The plow truck/salter will be kept on site. I have a SNOW EX VEE 6000 installed in the pick up. It holds 1 cubic yard of salt. I don't know how much that will cover since I am new to salting this year. The company will not let me keep salt on the property unless it is properly stored. I cannot tarp it on parking lot, I cannot afford to build a bldg, I can possibly put some in a trailer and keep it on site that way and just shovel it into the loader bucket to dump in spreader. I was thinking about plastic or steel 55 gallon barrels. I just wanted to put the question out to you :waving: and see what all of your expertise and knowledgeyou all would bring up. I have a friend 5 miles away that I can go to 24/7 to get his salt since he has a huge salt barn. Ploease give me some advice on this matter and I'm sure I'll be able to come up with an answer. Thank you again

THIS IS A GREAT PLACE......THANKS TO ALL THAT MAKE IT ALL HAPPEN

2. OBRYANMAINT

OBRYANMAINT PlowSite.com Veteran
    from ohio

I have heard of guys putting it in a container that you rent similar to a tractor trailer size

3. cat320

cat320 2000 Club Member