1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Storage Container

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by gman2310, Dec 31, 2009.

1. gman2310

gman2310 Senior Member

Just got a 20ft storage container to store salt, let me tell you, the best thing in the world. It beats building salt bins and covering with tarp. No more wet salt and slipping and busting a$$ trying to uncover load

2. NW Snow Removal

NW Snow Removal Senior Member

how many tons can u fit inside?

3. derekbroerse

derekbroerse 2000 Club Member

A fair bit actually. I've been using an 18' truck cube for the past two years, I can comfortably get 15 tons in it. The crap part has been that it has to be filled one bucket at a time as the dump won't fit in.

This year I bought a 40' (long) High Cube shipping can (as in 40x8x9.5 high) as it is considerably wider than the truck body. Haven't tried it yet but the truck should back in with about 2" per side to spare--still very tight. With the height I can raise the bed about 2/3 to 3/4 of the way. My plan was to have a guy inside (with a mask on and goggles of course) with a rake. Anything that won't dump he can pull and convince it to dump! Pull the truck and guy out and let the loader stack it.

I haven't actually done it this year because I haven't gotten around to my plan of lining the inside walls with cheapie 7/16" chipboard. Wanna keep the bulk of the salt off the steel. So far its been serving as a garage for my loader :D