1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Steep driveway

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by b2driver, Sep 12, 2004.

1. b2driver

b2driver Member
    from MD

What's the best way to plow a steep driveway, where at the bottom it ends at the garage with a parking area beside it?

Would it be better to plow it up and away from the garage or down and to the side?

I can start at the bottom very easily, that's where the truck is parked when I get it, since it's my driveway. :cool: I'm new to the plow scene, and learned a lot from the site, but from my reading here, I haven't really seen the hills being discussed too much.

Thanks in advance.
  2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

I prefer starting at the top. Main thing is not to lose control of your truck. If you start at the top, keep your blade down and some snow in front of it. That'll help stop if you need to. The snow will also provide a cushion between the plow and garage door, but you should also plan how you can go to the side of the garage in case you can't stop.

Another big factor in starting at the top is less need for power; going uphill, you're more likely to get too much snow in front of the truck and get stuck or more likely to lose traction and slide sideways.

Make sure you've got good tires or chains.

Two tips: Put down salt or some type of anti-icer before the storm and "plow with the storm".
  3. Big Nate's Plowing

Big Nate's Plowing PlowSite.com Addict

all I can say is be thankfull you didnt sign these people

4. PLOWMAN45

PLOWMAN45 2000 Club Member

i have a driveway similar to that not such a deep grade have to take some pics of this customers driveway
  5. Remsen1

Remsen1 Senior Member