1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Steep concrete driveway - chains? studs?...or?

Discussion in 'ATV / UTV Snow Removal' started by ArizonaSnow, Dec 22, 2013.

1. ArizonaSnow

ArizonaSnow Junior Member
    from Arizona

Complete newbie to plowing, but I just purchased a home in Prescott, Arizona with a north facing, 400ft driveway that has at least 75ft elevation gain end to end. (AWESOME view from the top...) Grade on the steeper parts is something like 35 degrees. It's all concrete, approaching 20 years old, a little of it is crumbling. Does not get much sun in the winter, but at 5800ft elevation in the mountains here we do get a number of snows each winter. (Hard to believe in Arizona, but true...)

It ain't Alaska, but my first snowfall here (of course, while I was out of town) left me standing at the bottom looking up at a nice blanket of several inches of snow that had been sitting mostly in the shade for seven days when I drove back up from the trip. As you might imagine, with the past week having been in the high 30's daytime, and between 15-20 degrees each night, much of the driveway had a sheet of ice between the concrete and the snow by the time I arrived.

Shoveled that off by hand with a buddy, but I'd like to be ready for the next round...

I own a 2005 Polaris Sportsman 800 4x4, with a winch already on the front, that I will be bringing up here and mounting a plow on. With plow, fuel and me on it should be a bit over 1000lb.

Some help with these questions would be much appreciated: