1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Steel or Poly?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by wxmn6, May 3, 2001.

1. wxmn6

wxmn6 PlowSite.com Addict

I am new to snowplowing. I am planning on to operate my own small plowing business for residental area. The brand of plow that I want to use is 6.5' Meyer snow plow. It is because it weigh 125 pounds less than Fisher 6'9" plow. I have a small pickup truck so that is why I am being careful with the weight of the plow. I am not sure whether to chose steel or poly. I know that the advantage of poly plow is that the snow does not stick to it and that it wont rust and don't need painting. But I noticed that many people stick to steel plow. I wonder why. Is there a disadvantage of poly plow? Which kind of plow, steel or poly, is stronger? Which one last longer? Which one would you suggest?

2. 75

75 PlowSite.com Addict

Hi wxmn6 - welcome to Lawnsite! A very helpful tool for finding information here is the "Search" feature, click on the word "search" in the top right corner of the screen, then enter the keyword(s) you wish to look for.

Does Fisher make a poly plow? I took a look at a Fisher brochure and didn't see any poly plows listed. Probably because I'm a welder by trade, I'm inclined to say a steel plow is my preference.

The term "poly plow" only applies to the moldboard surface itself, the moldboard frame and rest of the plow is still steel and therefore will require painting.

IMO, the biggest advantage of a steel plow over a poly one is ease of repair - read "welding"! Granted, when used properly (not abused) your plow shouldn't require much in the way of welding repairs, especially if you buy new.