1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Starting up for the first time...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by InsaneSooner, Oct 30, 2009.

1. InsaneSooner

InsaneSooner Junior Member
    from 64155

I have been in a lawn mowing company for about 6 years now, and I am wanting to branch off by myself in the Winter when things have slowed down with mowing/fall leaf clean-up and make some extra money in the Winter STRICTLY maintaining residential accounts. Now I have a few questions concerning this...

1.) What equipment will I need? ( I would not mind just using a simple snow shovel for the job if needed since it is my first year.)

2.) How much should i charge? What is the going rate for driveways?

3.) What are some overhead costs will I see with years to come? (and this year)

I am not looking for commercial accounts or contracts by any means at this time and would like some tips for only residential. Thanks! ussmileyflag
  2. Injunfarian

Injunfarian Member

I am new myself but after doing research on this forum and with local long time plowers here is how I find to price...

Most driveways you can get about 25-35 for as long as its not real tiny or real big.
    If however you think you can price it by how long it will take a good pricing guide is about $100 an hour so if you think you can get it done in 15 charge $25 if it will take you 25-30 charge $50.

Now like I said I have no experience myself this is just what I came to by asking local guys and reading threads/asking on here.
  3. iceyman

iceyman 2000 Club Member