1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

starting on my own

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by jce4isu, Sep 27, 2005.

1. jce4isu

jce4isu Senior Member

i need help i have been plowing for 6 years as a employee. so when i bought my 05 chevy i got a 7"6 boss poly so now i got the truck and the plow all i need now is work where do i start i was thinking 65.00 a hour is that to low or to high

i live in des moines IA
    thanks joe

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Don't worry about whether it's too high or too low. If your happy with it, go for it and you can adjust up or down as you go. Put an ad in the local paper, put up an ad at the local convenience store, talk to friends, relatives and neighbors. Even if they don't hire you, they can give you leads or refer you to others who may ask. Consider putting signs on the truck; maybe magnetic ones for this year. Take those who call for one-time plows. Don't worry about it if it seems to start out slow, it'll pick up when those people who think they'll shovel give it up and look for somebody. See if you can find somebody to sub for.