1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

starting new business

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by danthemowerman, Jul 25, 2001.

1. danthemowerman

danthemowerman Junior Member

I've been mowing lawn for 5 years now and would like to start snow removal. I would like to know how I would plow a driveway with a plow, especialy the issues with the curb and where to push the snow after I pull it out. Also what kind of snow thrower whould you recomend for doing small driveways?

2. wxmn6

wxmn6 PlowSite.com Addict

Hello,

Welcome to plowsite, this is a great source to learn about snowplowing. I have no plowing expereince so far, but I do have snowblowing experience. I recommend a two stages snowblower because it works better than single stage. Last winter I uses my John Deere two stages snowblower for several driveway and it works very well. John Deere snowblowers may cost more than other brands, but it is worth the money because they work very well. Tecumseh engine is never a problem. It always start in cold weather. For commercial work, a large framed John Deere DDE models is recommended.

3. Rooster

Rooster Member
    from Kansas

Danthemowerman,

First Iwould suggest you visit Chuck Smith's site http://www.snowplowing-contractors.com and purchase his book on snowplowing.

Chuck is a moderator here, and checks the post here quite often as his time permits. If you have any questions after visiting his sight, just make a post here, the members here will try to help.

P.S. Check out www.sima.org also!

Good luck!

4. SlimJim Z71

SlimJim Z71 PlowSite.com Addict

Welcome!