1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Starting a snow removal biz with Snow Blowers

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by let it snow!, Oct 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. let it snow!

let it snow! Junior Member

My brother and I are looking to get into the snow removal business this year with snow blowers. We live in a lake community west of Chicago with about 2k residential properties. I used to work on a dairy farm and did a lot of snow removal with a skid-loader but other than that I have no experience in the business. I have a 4x4 full-size, but I am thinking of just going with blowers this year and maybe expand and get a plow next year if all goes well. I have a lot of questions but for now I’ll just start out with one. What kind of equipment should I get? 2 stage, single stage? What size (width, hp etc.)? I would like to get used equipment if possible. Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks

2. bdlawncare

bdlawncare Senior Member

I already do this, alot of people love this idea... A suggestion if i may... when you are going around getting driveways advertise that you use snow blowers which do a neater job and dont damage anything grass lawn ect... i picked up 10 driveways this year for that reason alone..

If you have alot of driveways i would suggest you have more than one blower.. I use a 13 hp Ariens Pro 32" cut, A 10hp Ariens with a 32" cut and a 11 hp ariens with a 30" cut. They work awesome I have moved 19" of snow out of a 90ft driveway for a customer that only wants snowblowers no plows and it only took like 20 min.

HadiCoop likes this.
  3. let it snow!