1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Starting a new company, should I go LLC or Inc

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by mudhound72, Oct 28, 2014.

1. mudhound72

mudhound72 Junior Member

Hi everyone :waving:

I have been plowing for a guy for 8 years and this year I am steeping out on my own. I will be doing sub work for him this year and start picking up my own clients next year (he might be stepping down from it next year). In the past I done a bit of everything, schools, town roads, large commercial lots, small business, and driveways ect.

The next step I am trying to figure out is do I start the business as a LLC or inc it. My biggest concern I have is I want to protect my family/house in the event of something major to happen, eg; I am plowing a road hit a slick spot and take out a bus load of lawyers. If I lose the business and everything with it fine, but I want to protect my family the best that I can. I have been told both ways is better but Inc a business is way more costly to set up.

What is your opinion on what I should do.
  2. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

I'd bet 99.9% of everyone here who owns their business is a LLC.
  3. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Guess I'm the .1%
  4. Antlerart06

Antlerart06 PlowSite Veteran

Your wrong your .5% Since Im other .5%
  5. xjoedirt55x

xjoedirt55x Senior Member

Wouldn't you each be .05 for a total of .1?

But in all seriousness, what are the advantages of doing something other than an LLC?
  6. PrecisionS&I

PrecisionS&I Member
    from Ohio

Well you better make it .033333333333.