1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Starter\Flywheel Questions

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by BRL, Oct 15, 2003.

1. BRL

BRL PlowSite.com - Veteran

Preface: I'm not a mechanic here LOL. I have an 88 F-250. Had starter problems so we replaced it. It seemed to work OK then was not really working so well, then not working. So we pulled it out, threw some jumper cables on it & couldn't get the starter to start. Then we took it back to the store & they couldn't get it to run on their tester so they gave us another one. Only this one was slightly different. Threw that one in, worked fine for a while then now the motor spins, but it doesn't engage the flywheel. Now we can see that the flywheel isn't perfect, but it sure looks like there is still enough teeth for the starter teeth to engage. I remember in the past seeing some that were replaced, but those were practically smooth compared to mine. So I'm thinking the flywheel is not the problem. There is still about 1\4" of tooth + or - a little here & there. Is that still enough, or is time to be replaced? If it does need replacing, how difficult of a job is that (don't forget the preface LOL)? If that doesn't seem to be the problem, what other things should I check? We took the second starter off & can get that one to spin & engage with jumpers, so I'm guessing the starter is actually OK, but not sure after the experience with the first one. Thanks for any help.

2. wyldman

wyldman Member