1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Started a new company this for the upcoming season, couple of questions

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by kruser6, Jul 31, 2009.

1. kruser6

kruser6 Member
    from Iowa

First of all what a nice site you have here. It seems like there is a lot of good information and discussion going on here.

I have been plowing for 6 years. Through the time I have been plowing for another company I have picked up about 8 accounts albeit small, but enough to make a good chunk of change whenever it snows. Anyways this year I have been approached by a few apartment complexes and two large commercial lots. I also have a good connection with a big restaurant and a shopping mall. I really have wanted to do this for about 3 years and now it's my time that I can make it work because my other job is self employed.

So in order to do the bids I need to get a salt spreader and sand spreader. I am also in need of a liquid product to put down before the ice.

I am doing my bid at $80 an hour per truck for the plow.

So here are my questions, please help if you can answer any of them.

- How do I go about putting a bid in for the salting. Do you guys like to put a bid in for a per application or a per ton? Obviously the size of the parking lot matters, I am looking at a normal grocery store size parking lot.

- If you go with a per application how do you figure how many tons of salt you would use per application.

-What are your guy's triggers? Anything underneath "?" inches salt, anything over that plow? Is that how you guys do it.

- How do you know if you need to be salting or sanding