1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Start an LLC or keep paying the tax man

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by papaMoose, Jan 1, 2011.

1. papaMoose

papaMoose Junior Member

This is my first year plowing with my own truck. I'm sub-contracting for a company, since I have a full time job and cant get out at the first flake. I also dont have the customer base built up to go out on my own.

Its too late for 2010, but I was considering the pros and cons of starting an LLC and writing off my truck and other expenses as business expense. I am not the most up to date on tax law, but I know I'll have to file a 1099 for the money I've made. Will I come out ahead by creating my own "Business" and registering my LLC?

Thanks for any input!
    Dan

2. PowersTree

PowersTree Senior Member

Your truck is still an expense. You can still write it off. Talk to your tax person.

3. hammerstein

hammerstein Senior Member

Truck payments are not an expense and you cannot take the write off for them only vehicle maintenance/repairs. You would have to pay income tax on the payment but you could then depreciate them over 5 years. In an LLC any money you take is subject to self employment tax (15.3%) to the IRS (plus state and local) and also any profit at the end of the year. Even with an LLC you would still need to receive W9 from any incorporated company you do work for - new for 2011.

4. NicholasMWhite

NicholasMWhite Senior Member