1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

standard tramision chevy

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Chevy4X4, Mar 4, 2009.

1. Chevy4X4

Chevy4X4 Junior Member

i have a 1996 Chevy k1500 with a manual trans and have a hard time stacking snow because i i let in the clutch so i do not ride it but i loose all my momentum. any suggestions on how to keep my momentum so i can stack snow better. this is my first year plowing with this truck.

2. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

Use 4 low and just keep pushing.
    Too much momentum can be a BAD thing.

3. Chevy4X4

Chevy4X4 Junior Member

i was thinking that. i was hesitant to try it only because i was told that it really wasnt good to plow in 4 low. not sure why that was. thanks for the response though.

4. Triple L

Triple L PlowSite Fanatic
    from Canada

you shouldn't much much of a problem.... me when i get to the end of a push im usually doing 15 km/h well my truck an auto, but i just let my foot off the gas NEVER touch the breaks and as soon as i hit that snowbank my trucks in reverse... works flawless, soo smooth... I never give my truck any gas going into a snowbank and i stack 10-12 feet.... The only time i use the breaks as slowing from reverse to put it back into 1st... but hay, its all technique... and also, dont plow in 4 Low... unless you like wasting a huge amout of fuel and get paid by the hour

5. Chevy4X4

Chevy4X4 Junior Member

thanks for the reply Triple L. i think i have been hitting the brakes a little when i come up to a pile. ill try what you said next time i am out. When ever that is going to be..lol

6. Triple L

Triple L PlowSite Fanatic
    from Canada