1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Standard or Automatic for plowing?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by SamH, Oct 21, 2006.

1. SamH

SamH Junior Member

Here's a good question for dabate. I've been plowing now for about ten years and we've always used Ford F-350's with standard transmissions. I've always heard that the constant shifting between forward and reverse will trash an automatic in no time. Recently I've heard opinions to the contrary. I do know we go through clutches on a regular basis and I also know that my left leg starts begging for mercy after about 8 hours of pumping that pedal. Does anyone out there plow with an automatic? How's that working for you?
    SamH

2. Mad Mulcher

Mad Mulcher Member

I've always heard that plowing with a stick shift will trash your legs in no time. My best guess would be that 98% of the pickup trucks plowing this winter have automatics. Switching to an automatic will save your legs so they will still work when you are 80!prsport

3. Flipper

Flipper PlowSite.com Addict
    from CT

Been plowing for 15 years and all of our trucks are and have been sticks. Clutches are easier, quicker to replace then rebuilding an auto. My legs are fine.

4. Gicon

Gicon Senior Member
    from MA

How about those Syiatic Nerves? AUTOMATIC, always. I would NEVER EVER plow with a stick. Maybe on the highway, but never residentials. I have a brand new Ford and im sure the tranny will be trash by the time it hits 3 yrs / 36k I am already having issues now. just bring it back, and get a new one. I love warranty.

5. heather lawn spray

heather lawn spray PlowSite.com Addict