1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Something to fall back on...?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Turf Commando, Nov 13, 2009.

1. Turf Commando

Turf Commando Senior Member

Curious who here has another form of income in case we get a (green) winter...?
    Myself, I run a cleaning business which makes up 98% of my income....
  2. wizardsr

wizardsr PlowSite.com Addict

Not really, thank goodness for seasonals! payup
  3. jimspro

jimspro Senior Member

i have a towing biz as well, during a blizzard though no body sleeps
  4. wewille

wewille Senior Member

Im an automotive technician.
  5. buckwheat_la

buckwheat_la 2000 Club Member

mechanical shop

run a general contracting buisness -build houses, basement developement, framing, concrete work, flooring, etc

during the winter we do projects at very competitve pricing just to keep my guys busy when it isn't snowing. we give such good prices for contracting on the condition that people understand that if it is snowing we aren't going to be there

last year, we took on a historical house renovation, where we hand dug out a hole underneath for a basement, did all the supports, weeping time, etc, (no one else would even give the guy a quote) it took 3 months to do, but they were happy, and my guys stayed busy
  6. rob_cook2001

rob_cook2001 2000 Club Member

Bobcat work. Property clean up, dirt work, driveways, backfill at new construction, level pads, light demo. Also sell and deliver alot of Hay.
  7. rofoth6

rofoth6 Member
    from iowa

Hualing Interior Demo ( Fire,Flood Damage) I Sub Contract thru a major cleanup company
    ( the guys with the little green trucks ) And work at a gas station at night.