1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Solo Operator Rant?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Gettindirty, Jan 22, 2009.

1. Gettindirty

Gettindirty Member

This is my third year plowing and I'm a solo operator. I'm sure there are others out there. I salt and do sidewalks as well. My plow truck is a '98 3500 Dodge dump (which makes it worse?). You arrive, drag out the blower and shovel from the back. Shovel edges/steps. Blow walks and curbs. Salt sidewalks. Load up. Then plow. I have enough 1" customers that it takes about 3 hours to get them all done. Then the residentials another 10 hours on a 3" snow. Alot of the residential do not want sidewalks and ice melt so that is OK with me. Am I unique? How do others handle it. Thanks.
  2. augerandblade

augerandblade PlowSite.com Addict

tymusicussmileyflag:gunsfiring:Nope thats how I started 26 seasons ago, later got more contracts/pertime plowouts. Now I have 1 o;erator with a NH TC30 with bucket and blade, he handles all my residentials after he has cleared out my commercial walks. Keep pluggin away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. bigearl

bigearl Senior Member

The same way you do 1 drive or lot at a time!
  4. mycirus

mycirus Senior Member
    from Mass

I am a one man operation and have about 18 driveways. Only a couple require shoveling. No salt.
  5. Lencodude

Lencodude Senior Member