1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Snowplow Bids

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by cntlawncare, Aug 6, 2000.

1. cntlawncare

cntlawncare Junior Member

I was wondering how to bid snowplowing jobs, for homes and business. Is it a certian price by feet or length. I am new in the business.
  2. snowjoker

snowjoker Senior Member

bid help

I was wondering the same thing i have a couple q's on this subject?

What would be the best way to approach a business for plowing? Should i just write a proposal first and then approach or vise versa so i am not wasting my time on proposals.
  3. Snoworks

Snoworks Senior Member

Here's what i would do if I were just starting out in the business!

First - you have to find out what the going rates per hour other plowing contractors are selling services for. Most plowing contractors will be bidding projects close to the same $ amount per hour. Keep in mind all pricing structures can be used starting from the $ per hour rate.

Once a general price is established - check it against your $ per hour rate. - This $ per hour rate sould include all your overhead costs as well. Can you make money at this rate and still be competitive?

If you are at a considerably lower $ per hour rate - find out why - and adjust accordingly. If you are at a higher rate you may need to play with the numbers for a while - to try and get back to the rest of the market.