1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

snowfoil or not??

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Bowtieguy, Nov 11, 2008.

1. Bowtieguy

Bowtieguy Member
    from CT

I have a different truck this year and it has an older style Fisher. The plow has the metal snow foil on it. I have never used a foil before and i do avg size residential drives (25'-100' long) But also i am doing sub work on large commercial lots. Should i remove the foil or keep it on? I am thinking it will be a pain for residentials,but helpful on the commercial end of it. Just want some opnions.
    Thx!

2. YardMedic

YardMedic PlowSite.com Addict

Why would it be a pain for residentials? I don't know if it's worth the purchase price, but if it's already there then use it.

3. FordFisherman

FordFisherman PlowSite.com Addict
    from 06611

I had one on my 97 f250 and removed it- Got in the way when trying to pull up close to garage doors to backblade. Unless you do a lot of commercial with long runs, its not wrth the trade off. Try replacing it with a rubber flap and selling the foil to offset cost. Look on ebay; thought there was a guy selling them pre-cut. Good luck

4. Bowtieguy

Bowtieguy Member
    from CT

My thought exactly on clearance/visibility when backblading drives. I was thinking about keeping it on cause i know it will help with the commercial lots. And yes it came with it and it's in good shape too. The rubber flap has been a thought too....

5. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

Just get some old conveyor belt and cut it to fit. It hangs straight down so its not in the way and it is Cheap.

6. Ford445

Ford445 Senior Member
    from Vermont