1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

SnowEx vee owners

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by vanwhyjr, Jan 5, 2009.

1. vanwhyjr

vanwhyjr Senior Member

I have an older 6000 that I have been using for about 5 years now. It works ok for what I do.
    Anyhow,
    I was wondering if anyone has come up with or thought about a door or cover or something to keep the material in the box in between customers. If I put nice, dry, clean salt in mine it runs right out the back as fast as I put it in.

I think I'm gonna make some kind of slider door to block the whole at the chute. I think I can make it to adjust for different opening sizes.
    any ideas??

Happy New Year!!
    Frank

2. elite1msmith

elite1msmith 2000 Club Member
    from chicago

do u have baffels installed?

3. vanwhyjr

vanwhyjr Senior Member

I took the one for sand out. Every once and awhile I get some wet stuff and it don't flow for crap. So instead of fighting with it I took that baffle out.

4. elite1msmith

elite1msmith 2000 Club Member
    from chicago

yeah i had that problem to

i believe alot of ppl modified the baffle.... and found a happy point between flow and watching it spill on the ground

5. vanwhyjr

vanwhyjr Senior Member

Yeah,

Lately I have been stufing an old towel up in there to stop it from coming out when I load it.

I just got some new bulk and it's alot smaller that the old stuff I was using. It's mixed with calcium cloride I think (real bright green).
    I just know thats gonna flow like sh*t through a goose!

I have a piece of sheetmetal to bring home tonight to see if I can come up with a door or something.

6. Don Rauch

Don Rauch Junior Member

snow x 8000