1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Snowblower thread for the rookies !

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by WarriorLandscapingCan, Oct 4, 2016.

1. WarriorLandscapingCan

WarriorLandscapingCan Senior Member

Hey guys!

I'm new to the snow game as I have been a lawn / garden guy for the past 8 years.

On topics of snowblowers I have been reading on this site and getting some great suggestions.

I'm thinking of getting ramps, and maybe 2 single stage Toro Power Clear's, what are your thoughts on this?

In terms of ramps, would metal ramps freeze in the winter and get icy?

I live in Toronto Canada, the winters are all over the place.

I also have to get snow tires this year for the truck, Buff was saying Duratracs, any suggestions?

2. Philbilly2

Philbilly2 2000 Club Member

Try doing some searches. Thumbs Up

Most of those topics have been beat to death on this site. :hammerhead:

3. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

Get a plow for the truck.
    As for tires get the round ones, without a continuous center rib.
    Tell & skinney is the way to go.

All ramps can get slickery.
    Just use a strap to hold them in place they like to move and fall when your half way down.

4. SHAWZER

SHAWZER PlowSite.com Addict

Toro single stage blowers do not drive by the wheels , most guys just pick them up and set in back of truck .

kawasaki guy likes this.
  5. ktfbgb

ktfbgb Senior Member