1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Snowblower for Colorado Type Snow

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by MattGuyver, Dec 2, 2008.

1. MattGuyver

MattGuyver Junior Member

OK, so as an engineer I tend to take research a little far- especially when I buy a piece of equipment. I recently moved from a 15 acre farm with a 1/4 mile long driveway to suburbia and last year my neighbors looked at me funny when I would break out my Ventrac articulating tractor with the snowblower attachment but they were thrilled when I'd have the entire cul-de-sac plowed in moments. (See picture below, if it works).

I'm in a difficult situation regarding snow type and storm totals based on my front range location in Colorado- we get fluffy 'champagne powder' from now till spring and then heavy, wet snows in March. I'd say the average storm is around 6" but we will usually see a '2-footer' or better at least once / year.

I don't like to keep the tractor at home because it takes up the better part of a garage bay so it's time to buy a snow blower. I have a circle drive and an offshoot drive for a 4 car garage- not small but not huge either. I'm done shoveling by hand, grrr. I've looked at nearly all 2-stage machines and I'm leaning towards the Hondas. However, a good friend of mine has a Toro Snow Commander and he swears by it. It's a single stage but if / when they forecast the BIG ONE I can always haul my Ventrac over from the shop. There is a Snow Commander for sale in Denver for $650 that has supposedly only been run twice (2007 or 2008 model).

Sorry this went on so long but any help from the experts is GREATLY appreciated.

Last edited: Dec 2, 2008
  2. svt2205

svt2205 Member