1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'ATV / UTV Snow Removal' started by ccbracing, Jan 28, 2011.

1. ccbracing

ccbracing Junior Member

I'm new to plowing with my '05 Rincon that I purchased in Dec. Hooked up a 50" Moose County plow and it works great, exceeding my expectations. But the snowbanks have exceeded anything I've ever see! Any suggestions on the most efficient way to push them back? Thanks
  2. tuney443

tuney443 PlowSite.com Addict

3. BlueRam2500

BlueRam2500 Senior Member

Try pushing them back with the plow slightly raised. Thats what I did yesterday while plowing my buddies driveway.
  4. jmbones

jmbones Senior Member
    from NE PA

If they're frozen, forget it. Don't even try them. If they are loose (ie, you can kick them with a sneaker on and they break up without your toes breaking up) you can try as said above. Likewise, when you are plowing for the first time in the season, make sure to push the snow far enough to allow for future snowfall. Each time you plow, do what is called "stacking" and raise the plow slightly as you go into the pile so it pushes the snow upwards and "stacks" it.
  5. pjprod

pjprod Junior Member
    from ny

Here is what i did...i purchased a 30" plastic blade from the snowplow.com for about 30.00 and what i did was drill 2 holes in my plow blade and i mounted it so i can "shelf " the snow without going off the sidewalk...it is kind of like a blade extension..i keep the blade raised when i do it...it works great...when i am finished...i unbolt the blade and start plowing. The plastic blade is nearly indestructible.
  6. ccbracing

ccbracing Junior Member