1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Snow vee pro 3000

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by BossPlowGuy04, Aug 20, 2008.

1. BossPlowGuy04

BossPlowGuy04 Senior Member
    from novi Mi

hey guys, wondering if i can put a snow ex vee pro 3000 in the back of a half ton pick up. it has a half yard/608lbs capacity. or do i need a 3/4 ton truck.

thanks
    alex

2. elite1msmith

elite1msmith 2000 Club Member
    from chicago

not worth the money to do it , ur better with a tailgate spreader

3. BossPlowGuy04

from novi Mi

y do you say that?? i'm new to haveing a salt spreader so whats your thinking on that. i was just thinking it would be nice to not have to mess with bags, and you can't drive from account to account with a tailgate spreader. and if the vee 3000 isn't worth it will the vee 6000 work in a half ton??
    thanks
    alex

4. elite1msmith

from chicago

ill elaberate....

as i under stand it , the V pro 3000 will have a similar cost to its bigger brother the 8000 , which i owned

the 8000 can be a pain in the a$$ to load, due to the slanted design. The 3000 will be even worst., because it shorter ...the bobcat operator, will end up spilling more in you truck bed than in the spreader

1/2 yard capacity i think is around 1000 lbs...plus the unit it self , thats pushing ur max load... something yo dont want to do with a 1/2 ton truck

also , if your ready to be spreading bulk , then you should be thinking in terms of 1 ton (2000) lbs or better on salt useage, if you just wanting a larger unit, to spread bulk , this isnt much bigger than a tailgate spreader , with alot more cost to you

5. elite1msmith

from chicago