1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Snow Sticking to plow

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by rrs26ja, Dec 27, 2002.

1. rrs26ja

rrs26ja Junior Member

I am new to plowing. I have a 1997 Chevy K1500 with a 7 1/2 ft Fisher minute mount installed. Christmas day I plowed, and could not keep the snow from sticking to the plow. Any ideas?

2. John DiMartino

John DiMartino PlowSite.com Veteran

Your not alone, this storm was nasty,and its is not normal.If this was your first time plowing and you did OK,then you are going to be fine. I usually never have problems with snow sticking-it usually isnt a problem.

3. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Ditto. This snow was crazy. I carried around a moldboard full all day. Couldn't seem to get it to knock off. Really unusual as I keep mine waxed to keep the snow sliding off. Also, kept getting stuck - something else that the Dodge just doesn't do. I keep reading about all the plow guys who got stuck this one. Picture in the paper about a municipal plower with ten years experience who dropped one wheel off the road and landed on its side.

4. Pelican

Pelican 2000 Club Member

You'll find that happens with the wet snow we had on Christmas. Sometimes so much accumulates that the pump doesn't want to pick the plow up. I carry a shovel to scrape when this happens. I haven't had a chance to ask my driver, but I think the poly moldboard plows are less apt to do this.

5. JD PLOWER

JD PLOWER PlowSite.com Veteran

This is what most people on the coast have to deal with every storm :eek: .

6. gene gls

gene gls PlowSite.com Veteran

Pelican