1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Snow removal process???

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by mackengr, Dec 5, 2005.

1. mackengr

mackengr Junior Member

I am new to the plowing thing. I do know that my question is going to look somewhat silly, but I have no other option. Can someone tell me the process of snow removal for a small snow (say 2-4")? I am looking for guidance in timing of spreading salt, when to plow (before or after salting). Do I salt before the snow is falling, but anticipating an accumulative snowfall? Do I wait for the snow to accumulate and salt to kick in before plowing? You get the point. I hope someone can help ASAP.
  2. jackrusselfire

jackrusselfire Junior Member

We salt just when it starts tracking on the roads and then we plow and salt at the same time. if you are talking about road way's.
  3. mackengr

mackengr Junior Member

I will be plowing industrial and commercial parking lots.
  4. jackrusselfire

jackrusselfire Junior Member

Well then depending on what part of day it is. If the places are going to be open for buesness before or during the snow fall. Pre salt so no one slips and falls and so cars can move. If they are not open plow then salt.
  5. mackengr

mackengr Junior Member

For example: I have a business that is open 24 hours and will take 3 plows 5 hrs. each to plow. It starts snowing between 3am and 6am. It continues to snow for a couple of more hours. Can you take me through the process? Plow driving lanes, spreading salt, plowing, re-plowing, sidewalks, etc. Thanks for your help.
  6. NEPSJay

NEPSJay Senior Member

Just curious... how are you bidding these commercial lots or are you working for someone?