1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Snow Removal for Airport

Discussion in 'Government Property Snow Removal' started by TUPilot, Feb 29, 2016.

1. TUPilot

TUPilot Junior Member

I’m an airport operations manager that is new to the snow removal scene. Up to this point we’ve been using contractors for our snow removal needs, but we are looking into purchasing and operating our own equipment. I’m trying to evaluate things both on an economic and logistical basis.

Basically we have about 1.2 million square feet of pavement to clear. About half of it is comprised of aircraft parking, hangar areas, and roads/parking lots. The other half is taxiways and runways. We probably are going to continue using contractors for very large storms to get the airport open in a reasonable amount of time, but for our common two or three inch storms—and even up to a foot or so-we’d like the flexibility of doing things ourselves.

For the parking area it seems like a wheel loader, tractor, or backhoe with a good size pusher. If possible, we’d want to run the loader up and down between rows of aircraft; these runs would be about 350 feet long. Is it possible to push snow that far in a straight line? What size pusher/wheel loader would be appropriate for that application?

The problem with the taxiways and runways is that we don’t have a place to plow the snow; we either need to blow it somewhere or pick it up and move it. It seems like blowing would require fewer hours. Anyone have experience with large blowers, either that mount on heavy equipment or self-contained units like Oshkosh makes?

2. Randall Ave

Randall Ave PlowSite.com Addict