1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Snow plowing vs Snowblowing residental ( first year)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by coreyod21, Nov 1, 2011.

1. coreyod21

coreyod21 Member

Hi im just starting out this year although im in landscaping biz and have alot of customers asking for snow removal. My plan is to start out with a new areins deluxe 30. What are some of the pros and cons of both snow removal techniques? If I was to use the blower does the noise at night become a problem? Do you guys go out only in the day with blowers? Any advice would be great before I spend alot on a new blower? Thanks

2. 32vld

32vld Senior Member
    from LI, NY

How many landscape customers do you have and of those how many do you think will want you to do snow removal?

I started out with a 24" two stage that was bought to just do my own home. Then last year I got a 28" hardley used second blower for $150. Because I was getting more work then I could take.

Snow blowing is like anything else time is money so if I was starting out I would get 36" or larger. Also good to have a shovel man to go out with you.

Snow blowing works well on normal sized drives. long drives a plow would be better, gravel neither one can scrap clean because you'll suck up the rocks or push them with the plow.

Some drives may have no where for the plow to push the snow to. Blowers just shoot the snow onto the lawn.

Generally plows can be faster. Especially when you have a pull plow on the rear and a push plow on the front.

Though it takes a lot more money to get a plow set up.

I am working up to get a plow. May be by next year.

3. coreyod21

coreyod21 Member