1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Snow Plowing vs. Snow Removal vs. Ice Management

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by thelettuceman, Dec 2, 2010.

1. thelettuceman

thelettuceman PlowSite.com Addict

I advertise my business as "snow plowing". I vision the words "snow removal" as a front end loader and a dump truck with the snow being removed from the property. I bring this subject up because of liability issues. I am not a lawyer. I am just trying to cover myself in case there is a slip and fall. This way I can say I plowed your snow I never said I was going to remove the snow.

I do not have a tailgate spreader so I am not in that end of the business. I do not think that I would use the words "ice management". I would take that as the ice on my property has been treated and is safe to walk on. I would tell my customers that salt (or pick your favorite chemical) has been spread. Proceed with caution.

I would like your opinions, pro or con. I do not expect everyone or maybe anyone to agree with me.

Thank you for your time and responses!

Rick S
    d/b/a The Lettuce Man
    lettuce help you

2. JohnnyU

JohnnyU 2000 Club Member

I agree with you. That would be how I interpret those terms as well.

I have operated under a few different names over the years, anything from "Snow Plowing" to "Snow & Ice Control", to "Snow Removal Services".

3. qualitycut

qualitycut PlowSite Fanatic

I think there are different interpretations, some people may consider removal as plowing as you are removing snow of of the lot and making it usable. So in a way you are removing snow.

4. JohnnyRoyale

JohnnyRoyale 2000 Club Member