1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Snow Plow Questions

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by jclodfe2, Nov 16, 2004.

1. jclodfe2

jclodfe2 Junior Member

I am a proud owner of a 2005 chevy 2500 4x4 and currently looking at snowplows for my truck. I have a few small lots and a couple driveways that I would be clearing. The only thing is that I don't have the snow plow prep package. Will this hinder my decision on whether I can do this or not? i have talked with Meyer and they gave me a quote of $3650.00 for a 7.5ft blade, but the truck needs the snow plow prep package. I am new to this whole snow plow on your truck deal. I am use to skidsteer or tractor snow removal. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Jason

2. If your thinking of making this a serious rig for some serious snow removal, then I would consider fisher or blizzard. Your truck would handle either one, and with it being a HD, you may not need to do much to make it snow plow ready. I have a 3500, that did not have snow plow prep package and I did not do anything to it. Main concern would be to have a tranny cooler, and if the truck sags to much with the plow on, just put on a set of timbrens and you'd be ready to go. Do a search for Plow Polls and take a look at what everyone has to say about the plow choices. :waving:

3. jclodfe2

jclodfe2 Junior Member

Not really going to do snow removal commercially, just some private driveways and a couple of parking lots. i am in Southern Indiana so not huge amounts of snow like other places but ice and slush usually cause the most problems with the occasional snow.

4. ratlover

ratlover PlowSite.com Addict
    from IL