1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Snow plow installation?

Discussion in 'Boss Plows Discussion' started by jimchris, Jul 11, 2010.

1. jimchris

jimchris Member

How hard is it to install a new XT plow? I'm a farmer with average skills, I have a nice shop with a lift. I would need to buy good bits for frame drilling. Does plow come with good detailed instructions? It's going on a 2011 F350 diesel, not much room under the hood.
  2. metallihockey88

metallihockey88 PlowSite.com Addict

im about the same as you, fairly mechnically inclined. do all my own maintenance on my trucks and equipment. instructions seemed pretty good to me and knocked the whole mount install out in about 3-4 hours. not too difficult at all. dont have to get super drillbits. just got a normal decent 5/8? bit and it blew through all the holes no problem. just take it easy on the drill and use some good cutting oil. also dont torque anything down til you have it all together on the truck so you can make sure everything lines up right. dont know how the new trucks are but mine was an 06 f250. wiring is probably the hardest part. connections arent bad but very time consuming hiding wires and making it look nice. go for it and post on here if you need any help, someone always around to help but think you should be just fine. way easier then i thought it would be. was nervous but my local plow guy talked me into doing it myself and glad he did. lets ya know whats really going on in there and where everything is. good luck :drinkup:
  3. JD Dave

JD Dave PlowSite Fanatic

You'll be fine doing it yourself.

RBRONKEMA GHTFD 2000 Club Member