1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Snow Hauling prices???

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Kidder, Dec 31, 2009.

1. Kidder

Kidder Junior Member

I have a Bobcat S250 and a buddy has a tandem dump. This is my first year having commecial contracts and I have no idea about billing for snow removal. The going rate for a bobcat is $75 per hour in my city, the going rate for the dump is about 55-75 per hour. This is a total of $150 per hour. My question is my buddy charges $100 per tandem. Is this a good price and if I load him and sit on property until he returns can i still charge $75 per hour? Suggestions please. For example yesterday we loaded 6 tandems of snow and it took just over 6 hours. Is $900 a fair price for hauling for the owner or are we in left field?
    Suggestions please.

2. dforbes

dforbes Senior Member

I don't have the need to haul snow off. i would think that your price is not a bad price but it seems to me you should have had this conversation with the owner before you showed up with your equiptment on his site. At this time I would call him up and explain you have 6 hours bobcat time and 6 hours dump truck time at $75.00 per hour each. See how he reacts. If he goes nuts ask him what he thinks is fair and try to agree on a reasonable price. How did you end up doing a job without even talking price?

Dennis

3. Silentroo

Silentroo Senior Member

Generally hauling costs 2 to 3 times what it does to plow. So if you have 100 to clear 300 to haul. It is difficult to talk in generalities as you probably had several snow falls of snow there.

It is expensive. However a conversation is always better than a surprise.