1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

snow business start up

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Just Cut, May 16, 2002.

1. Just Cut

Just Cut Junior Member

I was just wondering if someone here can help, I am considering adding snow plowing to my current lawn maintenance business this coming winter, I have never plowed snow for a living I am trying to educate myself this summer to see if the money is there, Right now I have appx 15 to 18 residentail customers interested for the upcoming season, I do not know pricing structures in snow plowing, also I do not have a 4x4. Some other concerns are what can I expect in the avg number of events, appx numbers in the amount of customers that I should take on to be able to fullfill my oblagations to complete the work in a timely manner. With a guy it seems on every street corner do you feel that a profit can still be made for a legit business

2. Lawn Lad

Lawn Lad Senior Member

Best possible thing you could do is come to St. Louis the first week of June to the SIMA symposium. You'll have access to hundreds of guys who will be able to talk with you at lenght about getting into the business. Many of the educational seminars will answer your questions with more detail than you could hope to get from a couple of quick answers on this site.

You could look up a SIMA member in your area and ask them some of your questions as well.