1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Snow bucket size?

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by JoshA, Sep 5, 2015.

1. JoshA

JoshA Junior Member

Hello everyone, been a member of this site for years but don't think I've ever ventured out to post; hopefully this is the right category to ask!

I'm new to commercial snow removal so I cheat a little bit ---- I subcontract my machines out to those who know what they're doing and they organize what type of tools they're looking for.

I purchased a skid steer this year that I'd like to push snow with, think I've decided to start off with simply a high volume bucket for simplicity/versatility sake. The skid steer would be used sometimes as a standalone machine, other times in co-operation with others. Typically in my work with my wheel loader (150hp, 2.5 yard bucket) all the skid steers had snow buckets, even when the pushers were available. I figure the most practical thing for me to do is have a snow bucket on my skid steer and a 16/18ft pusher in front of my loader bucket.

The skid steer would do everything from pushing to scraping to scooping out of the tight areas between cars, posts, dumpsters, and either putting it in a pile for the loader to load out, or in some cases it will be loading the trucks itself.

The skid steer is a 74Hp tracked unit, weighs 10,800lbs and has a ROC of 2,600lbs. The bucket I am planning to get is a 96", as seen in the link here:

http://hlaattachments.com/item.php?item=253&cat=Buckets&sub=Skidsteer&pltfrm=