1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Sno-Way ST 7'6" or MT 6'8"

Discussion in 'Sno-Way Discussion' started by CarCrazed4Life, Feb 26, 2007.

1. CarCrazed4Life

CarCrazed4Life Senior Member

I'm a noob, but needed some help.

Well I have an 04 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab 4x4 4.7V8 Auto. It had the Heavy Duty Tow Package, and has been a pretty great truck and was the beefiest compact I could find. I do my own drive way and 3 Hotel Parking lots, and when we got this truck was going to get a plow on it.

I purchased a Plow from Snoway when they had their blowout sale to make room for their new 26 line. I was talking to a sales rep he told me that due to my truck being a compact, the only 7'6" I could mount was a ST. And since the price of the MT 6'8" was the same or close to the ST he told me to go ST especially since the mounts and everything are the same. He said they are very similar and I won't notice a difference with the MT on my truck. I've plowed before with a Jeep Wrangler and MT 6'8" and it was a great Plow, just small blade.

Well after using my ST 7'6" and breaking the poly already and the hydraluic lift arm is leaking fluid on my first storm here in the Philly area, I'm wondering if I would have been better of with the MT. IMO, I think a dakota is more beefier then say a Tundra is, and would expect it to plow better then my old Jeep did.

I have Timbrens and Goodyear Silent Armors Tires with the Snowflake marking for Severe Winter Weather use, and everything else about the truck is fine... Could it be just a weak or faulty Hydraulic arm that caused premature failure?