1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Small wheel loader (244J) over a Truck?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Krimick77, Oct 31, 2007.

1. Krimick77

Krimick77 Member

I'm looking for input from any of you guys who use the mini wheel loaders (around or under 12,000lbs) I've never used a wheel loader before and I am wondering how well they operate in parking lots around cars. I've always used trucks for plowing and I'm trying to find a way to improve my service. This is what I plow;

-12 lots ranging in size from 30-80 parking spots
    -mostly tight areas, limited space to put the snow
    -lots of backblading
    -must plow between cars when room

Right now I use 3 trucks (8' straight blades) to clear this as well as my residential route

Mostly, I am curious if a small wheel loader can move more snow and faster than a truck? I've been looking at the 244J as well as smaller loaders like the Terex 800's.

I would really appreaciate hearing from any of you guys who use these small loaders

2. JD Dave

JD Dave PlowSite Fanatic

The visibility is incredible, once you drive the loader you will not want to drive a truck again. They will turn around in such a small space and the articulation is really good, once you get the hang of it. What size of blade are you thinking?
  3. oldmankent

oldmankent PlowSite.com Addict

I don't have one, but if I was doing your route I'd like to have one for doing the lots. Will you be able to drive it between lots? A pusher would be best, but that is big for the road.
  4. SD-Dave

SD-Dave Senior Member
    from Vermont

I have a 244J...I have several photos posted just search...

It kicks *** over a truck and plow by about 3 to 1