1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Small commercial bid?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by BushHogBoy, Feb 12, 2003.

1. BushHogBoy

BushHogBoy Senior Member

I was at the orthodontist's office yesterday and the nurse knew I did plowing and mentioned that their guy was very unreliable (they had to call him at 10 in the morning when they opened at 8 and we had 3" of snow before they opened!) apparently he doesn't get up to look at the weather, plan ahead or anything. So she said they pay him $250 a push. I'm sure I could have the job if I want it, but I'm new to pricing commercial plowing, would the 250 likely be for upto 3"? 4"? How would I price it for different increments? Like $50 an inch? I have no clue. It is an L shaped lot with the front about 4 car lengths wide and the side about 3 car lengths wide. I'm not sure how long these sections are but the side is shorter than the back. It has some sidewalks to shovel but not alot. I'm guessing if it has 2" or less of snow I could do it in an hour and a half or little more. Maybe 2 hrs. with 4" snow. We don't usually get more than a couple-three inches. I'm going to use my Scag hydro w/b with a 60" plow on front and a sulky (yes it can handle it). I might call today and see if they are on a contract or what and if they want someone else to do it.
    Just wanted info on pricing structure.
    Thanks,
    Eric

2. OffRoadPlow

OffRoadPlow Senior Member

Pics... show the place, you will get more here willing to give you ideas if you show pics...

3. snow

snow PlowSite.com Veteran