1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

slow new guy

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by yellowsnow, Jan 31, 2004.

1. yellowsnow

yellowsnow Junior Member
    from midwest

When all you expierenced guys started were you really slow at first? This is my first year plowing, added it to my lawn care bus. Residentials are pretty quick but when it comes to my larger commercial lots it seems to take forever. I need to figure out a way so that I'm not going over the same place more then neccessary. I have one lot that has islands and other obstacles every time I plow I try to do it a different way but it always comes out to the amount of time sometimes longer. Any books or literature on the best ways to attck a different lots.

2. nor'easter1

nor'easter1 Senior Member

There is a guide to plowing that chuck made you should be able to find it if you do a search for chucks Chevy page. I just advise you really think out the commercial lot. Were is the best place to dump the snow, and remember to windrow the snow on straight runs. New plowers think if they have an eight foot blade they can clear eight feet at one shot. You have to angle and use about half the blade to stop the run off. If there are allot of obstacles have a kid shovel some of the snow out of the islands to you in the truck, this will speed up your time. Get there plenty early if it is possible and take your time. Faster you go more mistakes and loss of money in the long run. Also check out other lots near you on a day off to see what they do, if they are similar. Hope this helps

3. The Boss

The Boss 2000 Club Member

Don't want to go fast if your getting paid by the hour.:nono:

4. TLS

TLS PlowSite.com Addict