1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Slip and Fall Claim

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by CVLG, Mar 1, 2010.

1. CVLG

CVLG Junior Member

I have been plowing snow for 7 yrs and have never had a problem. I just was notified by a company that subs a snow removal account to me. that someone filed a slip and fall claim. the company pays me on a per push basis and for me to shovel sidewalks and ice melt. I plowed and shoveled sidewalks as well as ice melt early a.m. and than went back and spread ice melt at 8:05 p.m. the person claims they slipped at 9:40 pm. Has anyone had anything like this happen? what were the results? please let me know.
  2. hoskm01

hoskm01 Senior Member
    from AZ

What does your contract say? Did you perform within the specs of your contract? If your actions were reasonable and "normal" given the conditions, you'll have a better chance of fighting it.

Let your insurance company handle it. What were/are the damages? Hoping your coverage is significant.
  3. CVLG

CVLG Junior Member

contractor supplied contract and does not specify i need to do anything unless 1" of accumulation of snow, than after handcrew shovels must apply ice melt. At time there had been now snow accumulations.
  4. coldcoffee

coldcoffee Senior Member