1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by crashz, Jan 21, 2004.

1. crashz

crashz Senior Member

I have a few questions for you skidsteer and landscape guru's.

I'm possibly looking for a skidsteer to remove snow with during the winter and to rent out (with operator) during the summer. My father had an old John Deer, which I ran almost exclusively before he sold it. So I have some experience and I have my hydraulics license, so operating it will not be a problem.

My questions are:

1) I have a full time engineering job, which I don't want to give up. Would work during the spring and summer only on weekends be availible? Would local landscapers need somebody only on Saturdays or after five to move material? The machine could be used by my father's company, but I'd rather keep it with me on the weekends. This area seems flooded with landscapers, who for the most part just cut grass. Would offering bobcat service to them as well as home owners be a desired service?

2) I want to tow it with my current truck, a 2001 F150. The truck is rated to tow 5000 lbs. So it has to bee relatively small, around 4000 lbs. Bobcat has a nice machine, a 535, which is small enough to easily tow. But in used equipment, all I see are the 753's which look like a great machines, but a little big. Could I go with a machine as big as the 753?

3) I would like to get a used machine to keep the costs down. obviously I will not be relying on it every day, so price is more of an issue than size and name brand. What do you guys recomend? There is a Mustang dealer nearby, do you think they are a decent machine?