1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Skidsteer plowmounting question

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by Bodgit2, Dec 8, 2005.

1. Bodgit2

Bodgit2 Junior Member

I am a newbie to this forum. I have a New Holland L553 1992 vintage 42 hp skidsteer. It usually moves manure from my horses. I was thinking of trying a plow for the front for winter cleanup instead of the large bucket. It doesn't have the modern bobtach front. I have a large bucket, small bucket and forks to fit it. Is it worth converting the front to a bobtach coupler and fixing the 3 attachments with mounting plates (approx 1k for job) so that I can use standard attachments for it like a plow? It doesn't have accessory hydraulics either. These would be about 1k to add also. Are these worth it?
    Thanks for advice.
    steve

2. Oshkosh

Oshkosh PlowSite.com Addict

Wouldnt it be easier.....

Wouldnt it be easier to put plow ears in one of your buckets?

3. Bodgit2

Bodgit2 Junior Member

Please excuse my ignorance but how does one do that? The bucket I use for manure is a 1 yard bucket.
    Steve

4. Oshkosh

I'll see if I can find you a photo....

If you look at the push plate/frame of a say fisher plow you can see the ears that the plow pin goes threw to hold the plow on.
    You could just copy a couple of those and either weld the ears into your bucket or mount them on a plate and bolt that into the bottom of your bucket.Then just pin the plow into the ears, run a chain from the lift to a hook on the top of the bucket when you lift or curl the bucket the plow will lift.If you have a aux hook up just hook up the Power angle to that with the correct hose ends.And away you go.