1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Skid Steer Operating Costs

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by cold_and_tired, Oct 18, 2010.

1. cold_and_tired

cold_and_tired PlowSite.com Addict

I did a search and didn't end up with anything useful.

I have been going back and forth about actually purchasing a skid steer for the past few months. I just need some help figuring an actual operating cost.

I have been renting equipment for the last four years. Operating costs are pretty easy to figure out when renting.

I know my rough depreciation, insurance, operators wage and fuel but I am having a hard time figuring a good number to plug in for repairs.

I would like to buy a machine with under 1,000 hours. What are the "typical" mechanical breakdowns I may encounter in the next 1,000 machine hours? I know it's a hard question to answer.

I don't use machines very often during the summer so this skid steer would be parked most of the time.
  2. In2toys

In2toys Senior Member

Hydraulic hoses, but at under a 1000 hours you should be ok for awhile... I just got a hole in one the other day 2 inches from the end. Potestio wouldn't crimp on a new connector, cause it wasn't their hose. $90 later for a new 6' hose. I kept the old one to take to the parker store to have them shorten up. Tires are a big one for me, but I do alot of demo work. If you're just using it for snow work get a set of wolf paws for winter use & use the regulars in the summer. time for flat free's... other than that... smm fee's,
  3. DaySpring Services

DaySpring Services PlowSite.com Addict

I replaced a lift actuator on my machine in the spring. It was about $600.
  4. ford6.9

ford6.9 Senior Member