1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Skid Loader or ATV for Snow Removal

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by weeble67, Aug 25, 2008.

1. weeble67

weeble67 Junior Member
    from Ohio

Hello, I'm new to the site. I've been on lawnsite for a couple years. I've been doing lawn care for 4yrs. I do this part time. I work full time as a Police Officer. I am really thinking hard about adding snow removal to my business.

Currently I have a 2006 Ford F-350 Super Duty Quad Cab Long Bed Diesel. What with the size of my rig, I know that using a plow would be very difficult. I have been looking into going with a skid steer.

My market is residential, hopefully adding my current list of lawn care clients to my snow removal. Possibly doing one set price monthly for all year long, lawn care and snow removal.

My question. I'm looking for any suggestions on the skid loader for snow removal. I have thought a few times of going with an ATV too. I'm kinda leaning towards the skid loader.

Also pro's and con's on the yearly contract for snow removal and lawn care? I'm in Northwest Ohio, so anyone in the area that wants to throw some opinions my way would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

2. Bossman 92

Bossman 92 PlowSite.com Addict

I only do a couple drives (all commerical), but I think you may want to reconsider your idea of a SS for doing drives.

1) Unless your drives are all down the street fron each other you will have to trailer your SS to each account. PIA

2) Unless you already have the SS sitting around thats a pretty big expense to use on drives.

Just a few things to think about. Bossman

3. KGRlandscapeing

KGRlandscapeing 2000 Club Member